Speed up! Or May be not?

Has our life become so fast-paced that we’ve become habituated to overtaking others even though we are not in a hurry? Have we forgotten what the word ‘relaxed’ means? I got thinking about this a week ago, while crossing a forever crowded Suburban Railway bridge in Mumbai.

Has our life become so fast-paced that we’ve become habituated to overtaking others even though we are not in a hurry? Have we forgotten what ‘relaxed’ means? I got thinking about this a week ago, while crossing a forever crowded Suburban Railway bridge in Mumbai.I realized this when I was trying to move ahead of the person walking in front of me even though I was in absolutely in no hurry. I was only heading home after a long day. The moment this thought crossed my mind, my legs slowed down.

Why did I try to overtake him? I could’ve just walked normally while letting him do the same. But there was this urge to move ahead of him for some reason. However, I tried slowing down again. It felt like my feet were disobeying what my mind told them.

I reminded myself that this wasn’t a race. And that I am not going to be rewarded for crossing the bridge before others.

Then I did slow down. The next minute, the lady behind me screamed in my ears and walked past me, while asking me to get out of her way. Before I could gather what happened, she went running ahead muttering something to herself and maybe even cursed me. I got annoyed with myself, because if I hadn’t slowed down in the first place, I wouldn’t be giving her a chance to scream.

We have not forgotten what it means to calm down but if try to take a moment or two, there are others relying on you who cannot may be spare that minute. It is a competition and how do we find a way out of this now?

 

2 thoughts on “Speed up! Or May be not?

Leave a Reply

